Landmark 1-2-3 glory for Peugeot 3008DKR at 2017 Dakar Rally

Dakar 2017 Victory

Landmark 1-2-3 glory for Peugeot 3008DKR at 2017 Dakar Rally

NEWS | 16 01 2017

Dakar Victory 640 x 480

Thirty years after its initial Dakar Rally success in 1987, Peugeot provided another sizzling demonstration of its sporting prowess with a landmark 1-2-3 finish at this year’s event in South America. In the hands of dream-team Stéphane Peterhansel / Jean-Paul Cottret, Sébastien Loeb / Daniel Elena and Cyril Despres / David Castera, three Peugeot 3008DKRs completed the 2017 Dakar Rally’s 9,000km run through Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina, to take victory on the final podium in Buenos Aires. The glorious result takes Peugeot’s score on the famous rally to six outright victories and is ideally timed to coincide with the launch of the new Peugeot 3008 SUV.


The 2017 cross-country rally turned out to be a close, drama-packed affair with numerous leader changes and exceptionally small gaps between drivers, from start to finish. The challenging route included high-altitude running, tougher than ever navigation and appalling weather. However, the brand new, two-wheel drive Peugeot 3008DKR from Team Peugeot Total successfully took over the baton from last year’s winning car, the Peugeot 2008DKR, and made an immediate mark on the world’s toughest cross-country rally, warding off its all-wheel drive opposition to reign supreme.


Bruno Famin, Peugeot Sport Director, said, “After such an emphatic win, it’s obviously been a positive event for us. We got three cars onto the podium and that’s an accomplishment Peugeot and everyone at Peugeot Sport can be proud of. The 3008DKR won the Dakar at its first attempt, so there’s every reason to be pleased with the jobs performed by everyone in the team, from the mechanics to the crews.”


In first place, Peterhansel / Cottret, the most successful crew ever in the event’s history, flew the French tricolour high and proud as they steered their Peugeot 3008DKR to victory, clocking up their seventh success together and setting a new record for Stéphane Peterhansel: seven wins on four wheels, six wins on two wheels.


Stéphane Peterhansel, said “This is a superb win for Peugeot and I was delighted to have such an exceptional car. It was an open fight all the way to the finish. We faced stiff competition, not only from our own team-mates, with three other strong drivers in the squad, but also from the other teams. My duel with Sébastien was intense and also quite stressful. At the same time, we had tremendous fun driving. It was never easy because Sébastien is a proven champion and extremely fast, and he has plenty of experience of managing from in front, so it was never straightforward for us, as can be seen by the small gap that separated us at the finish.”


Sébastien Loeb / Daniel Elena demonstrated impressive progress on their second only Dakar Rally, to take second place overall. Emerging as the fastest crew of the fortnight, they combined shrewd pace management with strong navigational skills. Seventh overall in 2016, Cyril Despres and David Castera shared the Dakar Rally’s podium celebrations for the first time on four wheels, taking third place. A fourth 3008 DKR, driven by Carol Sainz and co-driver, Cruz, rolled on Stage 4. The damage sustained to the N°304 car proved too much for the mechanics to repair within the authorised time and the Spaniards were forced to hand in their timecard, when they were unfortunately eliminated.


PEUGEOT’s Dakar record:

1987: 1st, Vatanen/Giroux (205 T16 Grand Raid)

1988: 1st, Kankkunen/Piironen (205 T16 Grand Raid)

1989: 1st and 2nd, Vatanen/Berglund (405 T16 Grand Raid) and Ickx/Tarin (405 T16 Grand Raid)

1990: 1st, 2nd and 3rd, Vatanen/Berglund (405 T16 Grand Raid), Waldegard/Fenouil (405 T16 Grand Raid) and Ambrosino/Baumgartner (205 T16 Grand Raid)

2016: 1st, Peterhansel/Cottret (2008DKR)

2017: 1st, 2nd and 3rd, Peterhansel/Cottret, Loeb/Elena and Despres/Castera (3008DKR)



COUNTRIES VISITED: Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina.

TOTAL DISTANCE COVERED: 8,823km (12 legs), including 4,093km divided into 10 stages.

STAGE VICTORIES: nine for the PEUGEOT 3008DKR out of 10 stages contested.

Loeb/Elena: 5 (Stages 2, 5, 8, 11 and 12)

Peterhansel/Cottret: 3 (Stages 3, 7 and 11)

Despres/Castera: 1 (Stage 4).


Six 1-2 wins for Peugeot (Stages 3, 7, 8, 10, 11 & 12); Three 1-2-3 wins for Peugeot (Stages 3, 8 & 10).


Loeb/Elena (after Legs 2, 3 & 8); Despres/Castera (after Leg 4); Peterhansel/Cottret (after Legs 5, 7, 10, 11 & 12).

TOP SPEED: 203kph (Stage 2).




1. PETERHANSEL Stéphane (FRA) / COTTRET J-P. (FRA), PEUGEOT 3008DKR , 28h 49m30s

2. LOEB Sébastien (FRA) / ELENA Daniel (MON), PEUGEOT 3008DKR, +05 m13s

3. DESPRES Cyril (FRA) / David CASTERA (FRA), PEUGEOT 3008DKR, +33m28s

4. ROMA Nani (ESP) / HARO Bravo (ESP), Toyota Hilux, +1h16m43s

5. DE VILLIERS Giniel (ZAF) / VON ZITZEWITZ Dirk (ZAF), Toyota Hilux, +1h49m48s


Follow Peugeot Sport and Team Peugeot Total on social media:


FACEBOOK: Peugeot Sport


YOUTUBE: peugeotsportofficial

TWITTER: @peugeotsport